We’re going on a Bear hunt

The sky is a vibrant blue the next morning, just in time for our Bear watch boat tour that has us out on the water for a solid 3.5 hours. Even rugged up to the gills in layers of yellow jackets and red thermals the cold still finds its way in but bumping along the water at high-speed is a fantastic distraction from the cool. We searched the water edges but alas, no bears were to be seen. Plenty of honking, barking, stinky sea lions though! Back at the dock they meet us with Hot Chocolates and a heater to thaw out.

The sun kept on shining all evening beckoning us to plop down and eat our pizza by the water’s edge. Moreish pizza slices made from a delicious hearty dough, it’s crust dusted lightly with sea salt and herbs. Fatty Stewart the cat wandered over for a mooch and cuddle. I’ll be sorry to leave Tofino with it’s delicious bakery Common Loaf, the place to find veggie rolls and White Choc & Cranberry Muffins. Also it’s laid back anything goes beach town vibe, but even sorrier to be saying goodbye to Sarah, my roomie and travel buddy for the past 5 months. I think I could stay a while here if I had more time to play with. It’s like my own Pearl Bay from SeaChange. But where is my Angus/Max/Diver Dan?

Leave a comment