Hey gorgeous!

It’s time to say goodbye to the East Coast and head West to Vancouver. I fly over Wyoming, Montana and Oregon before swooping down into Vancouver. Fall is seriously happening below with brilliant reds, oranges and yellows visible from the sky. It’s like a giant patchwork paddock rug that’s been spread out beneath. I just hit the 5 month mark travelling and Vancouver is my new home for a few days. First thoughts – this is an easy one, I love this place instantly. I can see why it’s consistently voted in the top 10 places to live worldwide. It’s official, everyone in Vancouver is gorgeous! Especially the men, even both boat drivers were knockouts. The city is inundated with Aussies (we must be in on the secret),especially in the hosties, our voices kinda travel. I meet my 2nd Aussie florist in 1 week.  Both are so lovely. Anna at Pink Twig in Toronto, and a Tassie chick at the Granville markets. The city is harbour meets mountains, it’s the best of both. I know there’s a mountain up there, you just kinda forget for a bit with all the fog, then suddenly it slopes out at you.

After wandering about for a bit head over to Granville Island and take a peek at the Markets. Mmmm, the Granville Markets. Well firstly, it’s just darn fun getting there. Walk over the bridge or catch the dinky wooden boat over. Food galore – cheeses, meats, chocolates.  My pick – the Italian stall. I had to restrain myself from reaching in and helping myself to a cannoli or 2. Fresh pasta, risotto cakes, baked ricotta marinated in paprika, olive oil and chilli are all on offer. I finally settled on fresh pappardelle and buy cherry tomatoes, bocconcini and pesto to add. At the bakery I pick up some herb and cheese Cornbread for the side. Outside kids are chasing pigeons. One little boy was determined to catch one and the pigeon didn’t wanna know about that game. Dad’s, kid’s and families are up bustin’ a move in the sunshine to the busker’s tunes. There’s one guy plucking away on a banjo, another with a ukulele. I’m going back tomorrow to try a cranberry and maple tart.

Last stop for the day was the Flea Market. I had pretty high hopes and they were shattered. It was just landfill junk, apart from the odd stall of true vintage. I’m still trying to think what made the $1 admission worth it. I know, it was the stoned guy who said to me “You’re a very beautiful woman”. Thanks stoned guy! And yeah, the reports are true, the whole city smells of weed. And pine trees.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fiona
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 07:23:13

    That corn bread looked delicious!
    How about that stoned guy!!!

    Reply

  2. Susan Pryor
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 21:18:29

    Hi Kate, love your foody travels.They’re fascinating!

    Reply

    • katesfolly
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 00:50:12

      Hi Susie!
      Yum, me too! So many great places to find still :) You’ll have to tell me your fav places from Spain! Hope you’re great!
      Lots of love, Kate xo

      Reply

Leave a comment